Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Chick Lit, Publication Day

Happy Publication Day to @TAWilliamsBooks Today I am sharing my review for Dreaming of Italy by T.A Williams #backablogger #bookreview #publicationday #rachelsrandomresources @rararesources

A massive Happy Publication Day to TA Williams, I discovered his books late last year and jumped at the chance to read his latest release.


My Review


Oh I do love a TA Williams book, he knows how to write pure escapism in the most gorgeous locations and I loved this one and how it whisked me away.


During this story you get to travel all over Italy with Emma as she looks for locations to shoot the movie that could land her the dream promotion she has been chasing and witness some gorgeous landmarks along the way. The descriptions are detailed and colourful and just make you want to travel and experience it for yourself.

The author has a brilliant way of bringing the locations to life so you feel like you are there experiencing them. This was another gorgeous story where the pages just whizzed by as I lost myself in the story of Emma & Mark. I loved the balance of the characters personalities and this grew the more I got to know them.

Everyone loves a bit of romance in Italy and this was another wonderful taste of Italy set against a stunning backdrop that I just loved from start to finish.



Book Blurb


Up for a dream promotion, Emma won’t let anything get in her way – not even love.
Working for a major Hollywood film company isn’t all glitz and glam. But when Emma gets sent to tour around Italy to scout the perfect location for a new blockbuster movie, she’s not going to complain. Especially when it could make or break her career…
Historical adviser for the project Mark is a distraction that Emma does not need. As they explore the beauty of Italy, Emma starts to fall for the mysterious Mark, and soon finds herself torn between her job and her heart.
From the wild, northern mountains of Piedmont, down the vibrant coast of Cinque Terre and through the rolling hills of Tuscany, Emma’s journey becomes one of self-discovery as she questions her priorities in life.
This heartwarming story of romance and redemption is the perfect read for fans of Tilly Tennant, Holly Martin and Daisy James.


Available to purchase here

About the Author
Firstly, my name isn’t T A. It’s Trevor. I write under the androgynous name T A Williams because 65% of books are read by women. In my first book, “Dirty Minds” one of the (female) characters suggests the imbalance is due to the fact that men spend too much time getting drunk and watching football. I couldn’t possibly comment. Ask my wife…

I’ve written all sorts: thrillers, historical novels, short stories and now I’m enjoying myself hugely writing humour and romance. Romantic comedies are what we all need from time to time. Life isn’t always very fair. It isn’t always a lot of fun, but when it is, we need to embrace it. If my books can put a smile on your face and maybe give your heartstrings a tug, then I know I’ve done my job.

I‘ve lived all over Europe, but now I live in a little village in sleepy Devon, tucked away in south west England. I love the place. That’s why you’ll find leafy lanes and thatched cottages in most of my books. Oh, yes, and a black Labrador.

I’ve been writing since I was 14 and that is half a century ago. However, underneath this bald, wrinkly exterior, there beats the heart of a youngster. My wife is convinced I will never grow up. I hope she’s right.


Massive thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the opportunity to read and review, please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Posted in 5*, Adult Fiction, Contemporary Fiction, Publication Day

My final review of the day – Happy Publication Day to @olearybeth and here is my review for The Switch #theswitch #publicationday #backablogger #Netgalley @quercusbooks

My Review


I loved The Flatshare and was so excited to see The Switch pop up and it didn’t disappoint. The Switch is a superb concept that reels you in from the first few pages and holds you firmly in the grip of Eileen and Leena until you reach the very last page.

This book is full of heart and is overflowing with love and compassion, it demonstrates the value of true friends and highlights loneliness in the older generation across the country.

I loved the energy of Eileen and the determined attitude of Leena and know without a doubt they are who you would always want in your corner as they are a force to be reckoned with. I laughed and cried reading this book and I have definitely found an author who I will be eagerly awaiting further releases. If you want something to make your heart burst and feel full of all that is important love and family then grab yourself a copy!

Book Blurb

Eileen is sick of being 79.

Leena’s tired of life in her twenties.Maybe it’s time they swapped places…
When overachiever Leena Cotton is ordered to take a two-month sabbatical after blowing a big presentation at work, she escapes to her grandmother Eileen’s house for some overdue rest. Eileen is newly single and about to turn eighty. She’d like a second chance at love, but her tiny Yorkshire village doesn’t offer many eligible gentlemen.


Once Leena learns of Eileen’s romantic predicament, she proposes a solution: a two-month swap. Eileen can live in London and look for love. Meanwhile Leena will look after everything in rural Yorkshire. But with gossiping neighbours and difficult family dynamics to navigate up north, and trendy London flatmates and online dating to contend with in the city, stepping into one another’s shoes proves more difficult than either of them expected.


Leena learns that a long-distance relationship isn’t as romantic as she hoped it would be, and then there is the annoyingly perfect – and distractingly handsome – school teacher, who keeps showing up to outdo her efforts to impress the local villagers. Back in London, Eileen is a huge hit with her new neighbours, but is her perfect match nearer home than she first thought?

Available to purchase here

About the Author



Beth studied English at university before going into children’s publishing. She lives as close to the countryside as she can get while still being in reach of London, and wrote her first novel, The Flatshare, on her train journey to and from work.

She is now writing novels full time, and if she’s not at her desk, you’ll usually find her curled up somewhere with a book, a cup of tea, and several woolly jumpers (whatever the weather)

Many thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book, please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Posted in Adult Fiction, Chick Lit, Publication Day

Happy Publication Day Anna Bell, here is my review for We Just Clicked #wejustclicked #publicationday #backablogger #netgalley @annabell_writes @hqstories

My Review


I was so excited to see Anna Bell was releasing another book as I love her style of writing. She tackles real life issues but with a twist of comedy and a lovely light hearted feel.

In this story Izzy is trying to escape real life through her Instagram account and I think this is a brilliant reflection of the impact of social media and how everything is filtered to perfection. I love the characters and themes created in this book and kept picking it up every chance I had to read a few more pages.

A book that was a pure joy to read that kept me entertained from the offset and made me laugh and cringe throughout. Another brilliant read from an author I love that is the perfect balance of emotions to leave you smiling as you reach the end.

Book Blurb

A fabulously funny, feel-good novel that will make you laugh until you cry, for anyone who’s ever presented a perfectly-filtered life online to hide the unglamorous reality.
Izzy Brown has always dreamed of being an Instagram influencer. So when her colleague and fellow Instagrammer Luke suggests they ‘fake date’ to boost their profiles, Izzy says yes – against her better judgement.
Now Izzy’s profile tells the story of a confident, glamorous thirty-something with the perfect boyfriend, and her follower numbers are shooting upwards. So what if Izzy can’t stop bickering with Luke, his habit of checking his quiff in every single mirror is driving her insane, and behind the scenes she’s hiding a secret heartache? Everyone tells a few fibs on social media, right?
But when Izzy runs into Aidan, the mysterious stranger who saved her the day her world fell apart two years ago, major sparks start to fly between them. Izzy’s sure she can have the online success she’s always dreamed of, whilst continuing to fall in love – and heal her heart – in real life. After all, Aidan doesn’t use social media… what could possibly go wrong?

Available to purchase here



About the Author

Anna lives in the South of France with her young family and energetic labrador. When not chained to her laptop, Anna can be found basking in the sun in the summer, heading to the ski slopes in the winter (to drink hot chocolate and watch – she can’t ski) or having a sneaky treat from the patisserie – all year round!

You can find our more about Anna on her website – http://www.annabellwrites.com or follow her on Twitter @annabell_writes


Many thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today, please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!