Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Chick Lit, Seasonal

My second tour for today is with my review for the latest book in the Cornish Midwife series – A Winter’s Wish for the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett

My Review

Wow what an emotional story this one was, once again it does contain possible triggers with regards to abortion, child loss and infertility. The stories about these lovely ladies and Bobby just get better and better, especially where we have now gotten to know them all so well. I found this story emotional throughout with highs and lows and lots of tears being shed throughout by the lovely Toni.

In this story we learn how Toni came to be with the midwives and what her secret is that has stopped her from letting everyone know she is in a relationship with Bobby. I found myself bleary eyed a few times whilst reading about her horrific loss and the blame in which she has instilled and has become deep rooted over the past 5 years.

Throughout the tears there is hope and both Toni and other ladies who have also had heart wrenching journeys see that glimmer in this story. A superb addition to the series so far and I already can’t wait to visit these wonderful midwives again to see what the new midwives bring to the group and check in on how everyone is getting on as their lives all start to head in different directions.

Book Blurb

A secret love…

As winter descends on the coastal town of Port Agnes, midwife Toni Samuels’ mood is as dark as the winter clouds that roll in. Toni loves her job as a midwife, but her private life is falling apart. Because Toni is keeping a secret– a relationship with fellow male midwife Bobby that no one can ever know about.

A damaged hope…

Kind and gorgeous, Bobby is a huge hit at the midwifery centre, but he’s tired of keeping his feelings for Toni a secret – of always coming second best. He knows that Toni’s past is painful, but unless she can be open with her feelings for him, he’s prepared to walk away from their love.

Can love find a way?

Toni loves Bobby and wishes things could be different between them. But torn between her past and a future with him, everything seems hopeless. Until fate hands Toni one last chance…

Now Toni’s secret wish is in her hands…if only she can be brave enough to take a chance and make her dreams come true.

An uplifting and escapist read, perfect for fans of Christie Barlow, Jessica Redland and Holly Martin!

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Jo Bartlett is the bestselling author of nineteen women’s fiction titles. She fits her writing in between her two day jobs as an educational consultant and university lecturer and lives with her family and three dogs on the Kent coast. Boldwood is publishing the first title in The Cornish Midwife Series – part of a twelve-book deal – in April 2021.

Social Media Links

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/JoBartlettAuthor/ 

Twitter https://twitter.com/J_B_Writer   

Instagram https://www.instagram.com/jo_bartlett123/ 

Bookbub profile https://www.bookbub.com/authors/jo-bartlett 

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to help with the cover reveal and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Author:

I am a total bookworm who loves nothing more than to lose herself in a book. My pile of books to read is teetering higher and higher as there are not enough hours in the day compared to how many old and new amazing books there are out there to read. I love to read in my spare time and books are a massive part of our household. I feel really lucky that Daisy also loves losing herself in the amazing worlds the authors are creating for us and neither of us ever go very far without having a book to hand as you never know when an opportunity to read may present itself.

One thought on “My second tour for today is with my review for the latest book in the Cornish Midwife series – A Winter’s Wish for the Cornish Midwife by Jo Bartlett

  1. I loved this book, Port Agnes is fab and all of the midwives are lovely, you’re definitely right about this being an emotional book though, it shook me in ways that I really wasn’t expecting!

    Like

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s