Posted in 5*, Blog Tour, Non Fiction

Today I am sharing a review for a very different style of read from the Power of You series – Learning How to Leave by Michael Padraig Acton

My Review

Today I am sharing my review for Learning How to Leave which has recently been released in the non fiction charts. This book is factual and discusses narcissistic and toxic behaviours and how to recognise character traits and behaviours.

I have really enjoyed reading this book as it covers a lot of definitions and provides a lot of information with regards to narcissism in a really clear and understandable format. I have always found human behaviours interesting and this has further increased this fascination as we learn from both the authors personal experiences and through case studies he has provided to help it be relatable throughout. Written with both the abuser and the abusee in mind as it gives tips of behaviour to recognise in dependents and codependants along with recommendations to help offer the abused the feeling of empowerment to hopefully find the confidence to create the space to escape the abuser and take control back of their own life.

I liked the variation of examples provided as we are walked through films that display the narcassistic behaviour as well as naming the most dangerous narcassists of the last century. Chapter 10 focuses on domestic abuse and the many manifestations this can present in as the narcassist manipulates you to believe you are in the wrong and causing massive strain within the relationship as you doubt everything that you do and say and lose your own identity and the relationships of family and friends who would normally help support and ground you within every day life. As we near the end we read about the unhooking process and the six stages of change and how life is still affected even after you have found the strength to break free.

A highly recommended read both for those who are trapped in relationships with a narcassist as well as those who are interested in personalities and how they manifest. A book brimming with information, examples and other recommended reading material for each chapter.

Book Blurb

This popular book is dedicated to freeing those stuck within toxic relationships. Compassionately grounded in science and embedded in the author’s 30 years plus of clinical experience, this is nevertheless an easy and powerful read.

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Michael Padraig Acton is a psychological therapist, counsellor, systemic life coach and author with 25 years’ clinical experience. Working in the UK and US, originally from England and Ireland, Michael specialises in helping couples, families and individuals. He has extensive training in approaches including applied clinical and counselling psychology, CBT, psychoanalysis and psychodynamic, Jungian, Gestalt, systemic and transactional analysis, as well as holistic forms of therapeutic alliance such as mindfulness.

www.mpamind.com

Many thanks for the invitation to read and review your latest release.

Massive thanks to everyone who has stopped by to visit my blog, please remember to like and share to help spread the book love far and wide!

Have a great day

Kel x

Posted in Chick Lit, Cover Reveal

#CoverReveal Today I am so excited to be helping reveal the cover for My Ten Year Crush by Olivia Spring

I love a cover reveal and can’t wait to share with you another colourful design for this new release. I discovered Olivia Spring last year during lockdown and immediately loved her style of writing and was excited to hear she is getting ready to release another book. My Ten Year Crush sounds like an entertaining story full of humour and hopefully some romance.

Book Blurb

My Ten-Year Crush: From Friends to Lovers…
The first kiss wrecked their friendship. Could a second chance lead to love?
 
English teacher Bella isn’t having much luck with her love life. No matter who she dates, no
one seems to measure up to Mike: the ex-bestie she shared a drunken kiss with ten years ago, which led to the end of their friendship…
 
When Bella comes face-to-face with Mike at their university reunion, sparks fly. He’s smart, funny and even hotter than before, and despite trying to fight her feelings, Bella still can’t get him out of her head.
 
But after what happened the last time she stepped out of the friend zone, Bella isn’t in a hurry to be rejected all over again.
 
Should Bella risk more heartache by telling Mike how she really feels? Could the attraction be
mutual? Or is it finally time to put her past behind her and say goodbye to a second chance at love, forever?
 
My Ten-Year Crush is a fun, sexy, friends-to-lovers romcom about second chances and stepping out of your comfort zone.

Ideal for fans of Beth O’Leary, Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

Meet the Author

Olivia Spring is a British, London-based writer of contemporary women’s fiction, sexy chick lit and romantic comedy. Her uplifting debut novel The Middle-Aged Virgin, which was released in July 2018, deals with being newly single in your thirties and beyond, dating, relationships, love, sex and living life to the full.


In addition to The Middle-Aged Virgin, Olivia has published five novels: The Middle-Aged Virgin in Italy, Love Offline, Losing My Inhibitions, Only When It’s Love and the sequel When’s The Wedding? Olivia’s seventh novel, My Ten-Year Crush, will be published in September 2021.

When she’s not writing, Olivia can be found enjoying cupcakes and cocktails and of course, seeking inspiration for her next book!


Social Media Links


https://twitter.com/ospringauthor

https://www.facebook.com/ospringauthor/


https://www.instagram.com/ospringauthor/


http://www.oliviaspring.com/


https://www.bookbub.com/authors/olivia-spring

Cover Reveal Time

I hope you have enjoyed reading the blurb as much as me and are excited to grab yourself a copy and find out whether Bella decides to take a chance on love again after her disastrous kiss with Mike…..

So are you ready to take a peak at the cover?

Available to pre-order here ready for release day on 30th September

Watch this space for a review coming soon, as I can’t wait to read and review My Ten Year Crush and see what happens between Bella & Mike

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to help with the cover reveal and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x