Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction

My second review of the day is for a totally different style of story that blew my mind in the first few chapters – The Couple by Helly Acton

My Review

The Couple is a totally different book to anything I have read recently, set against the backdrop of government encouraging people to stay single and offering financial benefits this story took me a while to get my head around.

Millie is a strong level headed lead female character in this story and she has set her success against the goals she set herself in childhood and is working hard to achieve them within the set timescales. She works for a company who are embracing that normal is people not in a couple and when she gets asked to work on a proposal for a drug to stop you falling in love she knows this is her chance to achieve her dream job. Working alongside Ben for the project Millie starts to question who should take be offered the drug and whether taking something so final is really the answer, especially when Ben believes in couples and true love.

A story that is focused on creating a totally different normal to what we are used too, I found once my brain had shifted gear and was starting to see relationships as being against the norm I really enjoyed this book. Ben was a whirlwind character, full of life and vibrance and the polar opposite to Millie which created a wonderful contrast and many amusing moments as you read.

A concept that I had never even considered before that being in a couple isn’t normal, this book made me think both whilst reading it and drew my attention to think about it inbetween times as well. Thought provoking and mind blowing whilst trying to train your brain to think differently. A really enjoyable read, that is a bit like marmite and I love marmite!!

Book Blurb

Millie is a perfectionist. She’s happy, she’s successful – and, with a great support network of friends and family (and a very grumpy cat) around her, she’s never lonely. She has her dream job at a big tech firm and is on track to become the company’s youngest ever Innovation Director. The last thing she needs is romance messing up her perfectly organised world.

Besides, normal people just don’t have romantic relationships. Everyone knows that being in a couple is a bit . . . well, odd. Sure, everybody has that one coupled-up friend who messes up the numbers at dinner parties, but it’s a bit eccentric. You know, like having a pet snake or living off the grid. Why rely on another person for your own happiness? Why risk the humiliation of unrequited love or the agony of a break-up when you can do everything yourself? No, Millie is perfectly happy with her conventional single life.

So when Millie lands a new project at work, launching a pill that stops you falling in love, it seems like the opportunity of a lifetime. That is, until she starts working with Ben. He’s charming and funny, and Millie feels an instant connection with him. Is this the spark that science and society are trying to suppress?

Will Millie sacrifice everything she believes in for love?

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Helly Acton is a copywriter from London with past lives in Zimbabwe, the Middle East and Australia. She studied Law at King’s College London before following a more creative path into advertising. At 26, Helly took a career break to travel in Africa and Asia, before landing in Sydney. Six years and one life-affirming break up later, she returned home and threw herself into online dating in the city. Helly uses this experience as a single woman in her early thirties – torn between settling down and savouring her independence – as a source of inspiration.

Helly currently lives in Berkshire with her husband, Chris, their little boy, Arlo, and their little dog, Milo. Sometimes, she gets their names mixed up.

Many thanks for the invitation to read and review your latest release.

Massive thanks to everyone who has stopped by to visit my blog, please remember to like and share to help spread the book love far and wide!

Have a great day

Kel x

Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Chick Lit

Helping to kick off the blog tour with my review for a lovely light hearted read – Always and Forever at Glendale Hall by Victoria Walters

My Review

I stumbled across this series when looking for a new author to try and since then have jumped at the chance to read the books in this series. I loved revisiting Glendale Hall and all of its wonderful inhabitants and really enjoyed the story that unfolded as I kept reading.

Set in the picture perfect village, I love the dynamics of those who make up the Glendale Hall gang, in this story we meet fearless Anna and it was great to have a new character greeted into the fold. With her bright pink hair and aversion to staying in one place too long she added a wonderful dynamic to Glendale Hall as she joins them as their new housekeeper.

We have spent time with Brodie & Emily in previous stories and this time we got to know Brodie’s sister Anna as he welcomes her to Glendale Hall for summer and works on rebuilding their relationship which was left fragmented following a car accident in their teens. As this story unravels, we get to see a different side to Anna and we start to understand the motivation behind her previous actions and start to hope she can rebuild her life on more solid foundations.

A book with a complex and emotional story at the core that inspires hope and happiness. I really hope this wasn’t our last visit to Glendale Hall as I’m not ready to say goodbye to these wonderful characters.

The perfect way to spend a sunny bank holiday curled up with this light hearted romcom.

Book Blurb

What if we’re all just searching for something?

Anna Stewart is lost. After barely surviving a car accident as a teenager, Anna is scared of settling. Flitting between jobs, boyfriends and homes whenever she gets bored, she has no idea what the future holds. Then her brother Brodie, minister of Glendale, suggests she moves to the beautiful Scottish village, lining up a housekeeper job for her at Glendale Hall.

Out of options, Anna agrees to the move, knowing that she can always run away again. Once at the hall, her culinary skills impress everyone, and she agrees to give Hilltop Farm’s new manager, Cameron, cooking lessons. Sparks fly between Anna and the handsome Scot, but Cameron is looking for love – something that Anna definitely isn’t.

But it’s wedding season at Glendale Hall, and Anna is about to discover that her new home has a way of working its magic on even the coldest of hearts. Will she really be able to just walk away, or could Anna have finally found a place to belong?

It’s summertime in the beautiful Highlands village of Glendale – pack your bags and come on holiday with this gorgeously uplifting, romantic read. Fans of Milly Johnson, Heidi Swain and Holly Martin will love this charming romcom.

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Victoria Walters writes up-lifting and inspiring stories. She’s the author of three novels, THE SECOND LOVE OF MY LIFE, SUMMER AT THE KINDNESS CAFÉ, and COMING HOME TO GLENDALE HALL. She has been chosen for WHSmith Fresh Talent and shortlisted for an RNA award. Victoria was also picked as an Amazon Rising Star, and her books have won wide reader acclaim.

Victoria is a full-time author. She lives in Surrey with her cat Harry, and loves books, clothes, music, going out for tea and cake, and posting photos on Instagram.

Find out more about Victoria by following on Instagram at @vickyjwalters, on Twitter at @Vicky_Walters or by visiting her blog at:https://victoria-writes.com/

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to help with the cover reveal and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x