Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction

Kicking off the weekend with a review for my latest read Finding Home by Kate Field

My Review

I love discovering new authors to try and this was my first book by Kate Field and I instantly loved Mim as a character.

This is a story that draws you in early on and envelopes you in the Howard family, a family full of love and support which is something that is totally alien to Mim. She has had a really tough life to date and the night she meets Bill & Bea they have a massive impact on the direction of her life that she never anticipated with her impulse offer.

With no ties and no family, Mim decides to trial relocating to Devon and works to build a new life. She experiences what it is like to have the support of family and friends and you get to see a whole other side to her character as she starts to find her feet. She is a kind, compassionate and sensitive character who has a lot of love to give when she can overcome the obstacle of not feeling like she is good enough or worthy.

Brimming with a selection of wonderful characters set on the coast in Devon which is the most idyllic setting, I loved everything about this story and its stunning descriptions of the rugged coastline.

A wonderful feel good read that provides some much needed escapism and left me smiling and wanting to read more about the wonderful Howard family and Mim.

Book Blurb

She might not have much in this world, but it cost nothing to be kind… 

Meet Miranda Brown: you can call her Mim. She’s jobless, homeless and living in her car… but with a history like hers she knows she has a huge amount to be grateful for.

Meet Beatrice and William Howard: Bill and Bea to you. The heads of the Howard family and owners of Venhallow Hall, a sprawling seaside Devonshire estate… stranded in a layby five hours from home the night before their niece’s wedding.

When fate brings the trio together, Mim doesn’t think twice before offering to drive the affable older couple home. It’s not like she has anywhere else to be. But as the car pulls into the picturesque village of Littlemead, Mim has no idea how her life is about to change…

An uplifting story of found family and true love perfect for fans of Fern Britton and Veronica Henry.

Available to purchase on kindle or paperback

Meet the Author

Kate writes contemporary women’s fiction, mainly set in her favourite county of Lancashire,

where she lives with her husband, daughter and mischievous cat.

She is a member of the Romantic Novelists’ Association.

Kate’s debut novel, The Magic of Ramblings, won the RNA’s Joan Hessayon Award for new writers.

Social Media Links

Twitter: @katehaswords

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KateFieldAuthor/

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to jump on the blog tour and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Author:

I am a total bookworm who loves nothing more than to lose herself in a book. My pile of books to read is teetering higher and higher as there are not enough hours in the day compared to how many old and new amazing books there are out there to read. I love to read in my spare time and books are a massive part of our household. I feel really lucky that Daisy also loves losing herself in the amazing worlds the authors are creating for us and neither of us ever go very far without having a book to hand as you never know when an opportunity to read may present itself.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s