Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Historical Fiction

If you love historical fiction pop over to my blog and check out my review for The Mothers Day Club by Rosie Hendry

My second review today is for a totally different genre as we step into historical fiction with The Mothers Day Club set at the beginning of World War II.

My Review

I love historical fiction based in this era and was excited to see this pop up in my inbox as I have previous read Rosie Hendry and loved her books.

I have read lots of books covering this era but have never read one about the expectant mothers being evacuated and am not sure I was even aware that they were. I loved being swept away to Norfolk and getting to read about the expectant mothers who were unsure about leaving London and the bustle of the city for a much quieter location.

This is a story that reinforces the links with our past, whilst circumstances and locations might be fictitious these stories stop us forgetting the wonderful men and women who sacrificed so much for us. I loved the characters in this story, Thea and her siblings are wonderful and it was great to get to know them. They had all suffered a great loss during the Great War and lots of feelings were highlighted as to how those who had already survived the Great War felt at the outbreak of World War II.

The lead mother Marianne was such a lovely character who was trying to start a new life for her and her baby away from where she knew people in the hope that she could stop her child feeling judged by others. Through reading this book I experienced a range of emotions as there were some highs and lows for all concerned, I also learnt more about the conscientious objectors and gained the insight into how these cases were handled through going to trial.

A truly wonderful read brimming with wonderful characters that I highly adding to your TBR pile!

Book Blurb

Meet the women on the home front . . .

1939. When the residents of Great Plumstead offer to open up their homes to evacuees from London, they’re preparing to care for children. So when a train carrying expectant mothers pulls into the station, the town must come together to accommodate their unexpected new arrivals . . .

Sisters Prue and Thea welcome the mothers with open arms, while others fear their peaceful community will be disrupted. But all pregnant Marianne seeks is a fresh start for herself and her unborn child. Though she knows that is only possible as long as her new neighbours don’t discover the truth about her situation.

The women of Great Plumstead, old and new, are fighting their own battles on the home front. Can the community come together in a time of need to do their bit for the war effort?

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Rosie Hendry lives by the sea in Norfolk with her husband and children. A former teacher and research scientist, she’s always loving reading and writing. She started off writing short stories for magazines, her stories gradually becoming longer as her children grew bigger.

Listening to her father’s tales of life during the Second World War sparked Rosie’s interest in this period and she’s especially intrigued by how women’s lives changed during the war years. She loves researching further, searching out gems of real life events which inspire her writing.

When she’s not working, Rosie enjoys walking along the beach, reading and is grateful for the fact that her husband is a much better cook than her.


Social Media Links

Twitter @hendry_rosie

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/RosieHendrybooks

website www.rosiehendry.com

Instagram rosiehendryauthor

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to help with the cover reveal and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Author:

I am a total bookworm who loves nothing more than to lose herself in a book. My pile of books to read is teetering higher and higher as there are not enough hours in the day compared to how many old and new amazing books there are out there to read. I love to read in my spare time and books are a massive part of our household. I feel really lucky that Daisy also loves losing herself in the amazing worlds the authors are creating for us and neither of us ever go very far without having a book to hand as you never know when an opportunity to read may present itself.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s