Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Historical Fiction

Today I am delighted to be sharing my review for the wonderful – Harpers Heroes by Rosie Clarke

Today is my spot on the blog tour for the wonderful historical fiction series Harpers Heroes by Rosie Clarke. I read this a couple of weeks ago and it was a fitting book to have read to commemorate Remembrance Day, set in World War I.

My Review

I am loving the Harper Girls series, in this fiction story we spent some time on the frontline with Maggie and her new friends as well as spending time in the Harper store, it was great to revisit old characters that you’ve loved but also get to know new ones. A story that is reminding you what life was like for everyone during WWI, the war that should have only lasted a few months.

I love historical fiction especially the early 1900’s to late 1950’s and this story is a wonderful reminder of what the men and women sacrificed and the constant heartache experienced during these times. There is joy and heartache within these pages, the descriptions and smells from the frontline are vivid and make it drive home the impact of what our great grandparents would have experienced either in their childhood or as young adults.

I can’t wait for the next book to be released to see what comes next for these wonderful characters. A highly recommended read that I really enjoyed.

Book Blurb

From the bestselling author of the Welcome to Harpers Emporium and The Mulberry Lane Series.


The Harpers Girls come face to face with the harsh reality of the cruelty of war.


Oxford Street, London 1915

Sally Harper quietly battles to keep Harpers afloat in the difficult days of the war, whilst husband Ben is working all hours for the War Office.

Beth Burrow is fighting concern for her husband Jack, now at sea with the Merchant Navy, and the fear she may never see him again and be blessed with a child.

Driven to exhaustion, Maggie Gibbs, is now working as a nursing assistant on the battlefields in France. With the everyday horrors of the casualties of war to contend with she suffers her own personal tragedy when her fianc√©’s plane ditches in the sea.

Can the Harpers Girls and their loved ones survive the perils of war and find a path to future happiness?

A heart-warming saga following the lives, loves and losses of the Harpers Girls. Perfect for fans of Nadine Dorries, Pam Howes and Dilly Court.

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Rosie Clarke is a #1 bestselling saga writer whose most recent books include The Mulberry Lane series.  She has written over 100 novels under different pseudonyms and is a RNA Award winner.  She lives in Cambridgeshire.

Social Media Links


Newsletter Sign Up – http://bit.ly/RosieClarkeNewsletter

Website – http://www.rosieclarke.co.uk/

Bookbub – http://bookbub.com/authors/rosie-clarke

Twitter – https://twitter.com/anneherries

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to jump on the blog tour and for all the wonderful books you invite us to read.

Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links, this does not affect the great price you pay for the book but enables me to earn a little extra to keep funding my blog and recommending great books!

Author:

I am a total bookworm who loves nothing more than to lose herself in a book. My pile of books to read is teetering higher and higher as there are not enough hours in the day compared to how many old and new amazing books there are out there to read. I love to read in my spare time and books are a massive part of our household. I feel really lucky that Daisy also loves losing herself in the amazing worlds the authors are creating for us and neither of us ever go very far without having a book to hand as you never know when an opportunity to read may present itself.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s