Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Contemporary Fiction

Today I am sharing my review for Life After You by Sian O’Gorman

Happy Tuesday everyone, today I am delighted to be sharing my review for a newly discovered author for me Sian O’Gorman. Since reading Life After You, I have added her previous books to my TBR pile as I loved the journey this story took me on.

Life After You

My Review

A lovely story where we meet Milly and her family, this story takes you on the journey as Milly is trying to come to terms with the loss of her father and finding ways to cope and move forward with her life.

I really liked Milly as a character and the balance of how she was learning to cope with her grief and the ever increasing demands of her job. I loved the passion she had for when she met Mrs Murphy and how this caused her to stop and take notice which triggered a chain reaction of events in her life.

An emotional story on many levels, I particularly liked the way it highlighted imposter syndrome. Imposter syndrome is a growing issue faced by not only new mums, it is now all around us and this story bought to the forefront how the people who seem to have it the most together often aren’t showing a true reflection.

A story that highlights loss, friendship, mental health and with a touch of romance amongst the glasses of grappa, a great read from start to finish.

Book Blurb

Meaningful and moving, a beautiful story with life-affirming qualities.

Milly Bryne’s world came crashing down when she lost her beloved Dad and boyfriend in a matter of weeks.
Losing her Dad has broken her family. Losing her soul mate made has made her give up on life and love.
After swerving from stability to chaos to despair, Milly finally believes she has her life back on track when the unexpected return of a familiar face to Ireland throws her life once more into a spin. Milly is forced to decide if her new life is the one for her, or if there is another path that will bring even greater riches of joy, excitement and fun into her world. Life just isn’t worth living if your heart isn’t in it?
Perfect for the fans of Cecilia Ahern and Cathy Kelly

Available to purchase here

Meet the Author

Sian O’Gorman was born in Galway on the West Coast of Ireland, grew up in the lovely city of Cardiff, and has found her way back to Ireland and now lives on the east of the country, in the village of Dalkey, just along the coast from Dublin. She works as a radio producer for RTE.

Where to find Sian

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/msogorman

Twitter : https://www.twitter.com/msogorman 

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/sian.ogorman.7 

Bookbub: www.bookbub.com/authors/sian-o-gorman 

Mailing list sign up: https://bit.ly/SianOGormannewsletter

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to read and review the latest book in the Little Duck Pond Cafe series. Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links, this does not affect the great price you pay for the book but enables me to earn a little extra to keep funding my blog and recommending great books!

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links, this does not affect the great price you pay for the book but enables me to earn a little extra to keep funding my blog and recommending great books!

Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Chick Lit

What a way to start a chilly Friday morning, with my review for Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls by Holly Martin

I am a massive fan of Holly Martin and loved my first trip to Sapphire Bay and am excited to join the blog tour for Autumn Skies over Ruby Falls

PSX_20200911_085033

My Review

I loved the first visit to Sapphire Bay and couldn’t wait to read this book and visit Aria, Skye and Clover again. Set against a stunning backdrop once I had picked this book up I devoured it.

In this visit we get to spend more time with Clover and learn more about what has happened to shape her life and see her returning and settling in her childhood home again. The story touches on lots of emotions as to how and why Clover feels as she does and what exactly is holding her back from committing to a relationship. This book made me laugh, it made me cry and it filled me with love and hope as I continued to read.

The descriptions in this book are colourful and jump off the page with ice cream flavours that make your mouth water as you read. A story that inspires you to chase your dreams and picks you up and takes you on an emotional rollercoaster along the way. I love the village with its wonderful contrasting characters that help reshape the bonds that once existed between the local residents and the hotel. 

Set at one of my favourite times of year when you can enjoy wrapping up in baggy jumpers with fluffy blankets and big cups of hot chocolate, I loved this story from start to finish.

 

Book Blurb

Get swept away to the sparkling Cornish coast with the stunning new novel from the international million selling author Holly Martin. Autumn Skies Over Ruby Falls is the perfect romantic treat to snuggle up with this autumn.

Clover Philips is exactly where she’s meant to be – back home on Jewel Island teaching dance to the guests at the beautiful Sapphire Bay Hotel that she co-owns with her sisters Skye and Aria. Her life is complete, except for one thing…

When Clover left London she also left behind a devastating betrayal. She hasn’t been able to date anyone since, let alone allow herself to fall in love. What she needs is a casual fling to ease herself back into romance. And as luck would have it, the very handsome Angel Mazzeo is back in town.

The chemistry between Clover and Angel has been undeniable ever since Angel first arrived on Jewel Island six months ago. And though content to be her friend till now, Angel is more than willing to help Clover find her dating feet again.

It should be easy to keep things carefree when love is off the table, but when every moment is magical what started as casual soon becomes something much deeper. Will Clover and Angel find the courage to tell each other how they really feel? And is Clover ready to do the one thing she swore she’d never do again, fall in love?

Perfect for fans of Jill Mansell, Sarah Morgan and Sophie Kinsella, this unforgettable romance is guaranteed to make you smile and melt your heart.

 

AUTUMN SKIES FINAL

Available to purchase here

 

Meet the Author

Screenshot 2020-04-24 at 11.49.15

PLEASE NOTE. Holly is not the author of Princess (The Johnson Family). That book is by a different author with the same name.

Holly lives in a little white cottage by the sea. She studied media at university which led to a very glitzy career as a hotel receptionist followed by a even more glamorous two years working in a bank. The moment that one of her colleagues received the much coveted carriage clock for fifteen years’ service was the moment when she knew she had to escape. She quit her job and returned to university to train to be a teacher. Three years later, she emerged wide eyed and terrified that she now had responsibility for the development of thirty young minds. She taught for four years and then escaped the classroom to teach history workshops, dressing up as a Viking one day and an Egyptian High Priestess the next. But the long journeys around the UK and many hours sat on the M25 gave her a lot of time to plan out her stories and she now writes full time, doing what she loves.

Holly has been writing for 8 years. She was shortlisted for the New Talent Award at the Festival of Romance. Her short story won the Sunlounger competition and was published in the Sunlounger anthology. She won the Carina Valentine’s competition at the Festival of Romance 2013 with her novel The Guestbook. She was shortlisted for Best Romantic Read, Best eBook and Innovation in Romantic Fiction at the Festival of Romance 2014. She is the bestselling author of 18 books

Follow her on Twitter @HollyMAuthor

 

20200908_112706

Many thanks to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to read and review the latest book in the Little Duck Pond Cafe series. Please remember to like and share to help spread the book love!

Thanks for visiting Love the Smell of a Book today and I hope you have a great day!

Kel x

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links, this does not affect the great price you pay for the book but enables me to earn a little extra to keep funding my blog and recommending great books!

Please note this post contains Amazon affiliate links, this does not affect the great price you pay for the book but enables me to earn a little extra to keep funding my blog and recommending great books!