Posted in Adult Fiction, Blog Tour, Historical Fiction

If you love historical fiction, pop over to my blog and read my review for Rose’s Choice by Chrissie Bradshaw #rachelsrandomresources #backablogger #blogtour @rararesources @chrissiebeee

Today I am joining the blog tour for Rose’s Choice. I love historical fiction and this book was set at the end of World War II and is a superb first book in the Colliery Rows series.

My Review

Rose’s Choice was my first book by Chrissie Bradshaw and I flew through it as the words flowed together so effortlessly.

I felt as if I was sitting on the sidelines watching as life unfolded for Rose and her family. Set during World War II this story follows a coal miner’s daughter Rose and their family, it takes your through their highs and lows as they work hard to survive the war and forge a path forwards in the aftermath.

A story of heartbreak after heartbreak that makes you want to hug Rose and her younger brothers. I loved how the story took unexpected twists as I kept reading and I didn’t feel like I could predict what would happen next to Rose and her family as I kept reading.

A book brimming with wonderful characters, who all chip in and help eachother. Community spirit was at an all time high in this era and this coal miner’s family reflect wonderfully how family and friends pull together. A wonderful insight into what life was like for a coal miner and their family.

I loved this story and am pleased it is book 1 of a saga as I can’t wait to read the next one!

Book Blurb

Rose’s Choice – a heart-wrenching wartime saga of love, family and secrets.

Rationing, bombing, disease and pit disasters are part of Rose Kelly’s World War 2 childhood. When the spirited coalminer’s daughter discovers a family secret, she makes a choice that overshadows her teenage years.

Rose tries to make the most of post-war opportunities but family tragedy pulls her back to a life in the colliery rows. She relinquishes her bright future for domestic duties because her family comes first. Will family ties get in the way of her dreams?

Purchase Links

Amazon UK

Amazon US

About the Author

Chrissie, 2016 winner of the Romantic Novelist’s Elizabeth Goudge writing trophy, is a seasoned tea drinker and a tenacious trainer of her welsh terrier, Oscar. She has always loved match-making a book to a reader. Writing the kind of book she loves to read takes this a step further. She has written two contemporary sagas, A JARFUL of MOONDREAMS, a contemporary story about family relationships, secrets and how dreams can come true, and THE BARN OF BURIED DREAMS, a contemporary story about two sisters who are struggling after the death of their mother. ROSE’S CHOICE is her first historical saga and is set where Chrissie lives in Northumberland.

When she is not writing or reading, you will find Chrissie walking Oscar on the beautiful Northumbrian coastline, travelling or spending time with her family and friends.

Social Media Links

Chrissie enjoys tweeting to readers on @ChrissieBeee

Her instagram account is chrissie_bradshaw_author

Her blog is http://www.chrissiebradshaw.com/

and she has a Chrissie Bradshaw author page on Facebook.

She would love to hear from readers.

Thank you to Rachel’s Random Resources for the invitation to take part in the blog tour for this wonderfully written historical saga.

Thank you for visiting my blog today, please remember to subscribe to receive notifications when new reviews are posted and to like and share this post to help spread the book love!

Author:

I am a total bookworm who loves nothing more than to lose herself in a book. My pile of books to read is teetering higher and higher as there are not enough hours in the day compared to how many old and new amazing books there are out there to read. I love to read in my spare time and books are a massive part of our household. I feel really lucky that Daisy also loves losing herself in the amazing worlds the authors are creating for us and neither of us ever go very far without having a book to hand as you never know when an opportunity to read may present itself.

Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s