Posted in 5*, Adult Fiction, Debut Book, Historical Fiction

The Foyles Bookshop Girls by Elaine Roberts (The Foyles Girls Book 1)

In this story you get to know the girls and their families as World War I commences. I loved the girls in this book and how the story gave you an insight into events leading up to this story.

This story drew you in so that you felt part of the family and gave you the need to know what happened next with so much at stake for all of the families involved as their boys go off to war.

A brilliant historical fiction read based around the hardworking girls at Foyles Bookshop, this offers a heart wrenching insight into how hard life was for the women left at home and how emotions ran high as war continued. A highly recommended read that will pull at your heart strings.

Book Blurb

London, 1914: one ordinary day, three girls arrive for work at London’s renowned Foyles bookshop. But when war with Germany is declared their lives will never be the same again…

Alice has always been the ‘sensible’ one in her family – especially in comparison with her suffrage-supporting sister! But decidedly against her father’s wishes, she accepts a job at Foyles Bookshop; and for bookworm Alice it’s a dream come true.

But with the country at war, Alice’s happy world is shattered in an instant. Determined to do what she can, Alice works in the bookshop by day, and risks her own life driving an ambulance around bomb-ravaged London by night. But however busy she keeps herself, she can’t help but think of the constant danger those she loves are facing on the frontline…

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn’t be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war.

Screen Shot 2018-11-03 at 18.20.18
Available to purchase on Amazon

 

Posted in 5*, Adult Fiction, Historical Fiction

The Foyles Bookshop Girls at War by Elaine Roberts (The Foyles Girls Book 2)

I absolutely loved the first book in this series and did a happy dance when I saw there were going to be further books. This story gives us the chance to get to know Molly the headstrong member of the trio of girls and her family.

With the war continuing to rage around them Molly feels that she needs to do more for the war efforts and against the advice of Alice and Victoria this book see’s her leaving the safety of The Foyles Bookshop and swapping it for overalls in the munitions factory.

This was a brilliant addition to this lovely heartwarming series, a story of how friendships and events that happened during wartime tied families and friends even closer together and a demonstration of how communities pulled together to help eachother with the constant threat of loss hanging over everyones heads.

I became so lost in this story that I was disappointed that I had reached the end and I can’t wait to be able to revisit the lovely girls at Foyles Bookshop in the third and final book of the series.

Book Blurb

Alice, Victoria and Molly couldn’t be more different and yet they share a friendship that stems back to their childhood – a friendship that provides everyday solace from the tribulations and heartbreak of war. Perfect for fans of Elaine Everest, Daisy Styles and Rosie Hendry.

With their loved ones fighting on the front line the Foyles girls face the trials and tribulations of living in London during the war – yet they hold on to hope that a happy-ever-after isn’t only to be found in the pages of their beloved books…

Screen Shot 2018-11-03 at 17.36.14
Available to purchase on Amazon